April 1, 2020

Faculty members from across the College of Arts and Humanities were honored virtually at the 2020 Founders’ Day Honors Convocation on April 1. The annual ceremony recognizes UCF faculty members and students from across disciplines for their academic achievements, contributions and tenures. The awards include funding to support each winner’s research, encouraging them to continue making strides in their careers and contributing to the success of the university.

Along with awards for teaching, research and service, the dean of each college selects one undergraduate student a year to receive the Founders’ Award for exceptional work within their area of study. Additionally, students pursuing honors in their major are commended for their outstanding theses.

Julia Listengaren, professor of theatre, was one of four faculty members to be named Pegasus Professor in 2020. She joins five other professors in the college: José Fernández, Humberto López Cruz, Stella Sung, Jeffrey Rupert and Tison Pugh. Meet the 2020 Pegasus Professors on UCF Today.

The full list of 2020 Founders’ Day honorees from CAH include:

Pegasus Professor Award
  • Julia Listengarten (Performing Arts)
The University Award for Excellence in Faculty Academic Advising
  • Patricia Farless (History)
The University Award for Excellence in Professional Service
  • Beatriz Reyes-Foster (Women’s and Gender Studies)
The College Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Matthew Bryan (Writing & Rhetoric)
  • Nicholas Shrubsole (Philosophy)
  • Sandra Sousa (Modern Languages & Literatures)
  • Laurie Uttich (English)
The College Awards for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
  • Elizabeth Horn (Performing Arts)
The College Award for Excellence in Research
  • Vladimir Solonari (History)
Retiring Faculty
  • Patrick Rushin
20-Year Service Awards
  • James Brown (Performing Arts)
  • Stephen Ethridge (Writing & Rhetoric)
  • Marcella Farina (Modern Languages & Literatures)
  • Patricia Farless (History)
  • Mark Gerstein (Nicholson School of Communication and Media)
  • Scott Hall (Visual Arts & Design)
  • Lori Ingle (Nicholson School of Communication and Media)
  • Carla Poindexter (Visual Arts & Design)
  • Terry Thaxton (English)
  • Kristina Tollefson (Performing Arts)
30-Year Service Awards
  • Lyman Brodie (Performing Arts)
  • Madelyn Flammia (Modern Languages & Literatures)
  • Keith Koons (Performing Arts)
  • Shelley Park (Philosophy)
50-Year Service Awards
  • Walter Gaudnek (Visual Arts and Design)
Student Awards
  • Founders’ Award
    • Taylor Pryor (English)
  • Honors in the Major
    • Anna Kester (Visual Arts and Design)

Congratulations to all, and charge on!