May 2, 2011

Five aspiring UCF student artists have been awarded the 2011 J.R. Hopes Art Scholarship, named after the senior vice president of marketing at AOL-Time Warner during the height of the Internet boom. The scholarship was established to encourage talented arts students with financial need to further their artistic careers. Each winner will receive a $2,000 scholarship for the 2011-12 school year for tuition, textbooks or other items for their art education.

This year’s winners are Lukas (3-D animation), Nicole Gayton (sculpture), Natasha Kinsley (painting and sculpture), Michael Ryan Reboyro (2-D animation) and Kwok Yin Mak (digital media). To view the winners’ works and learn more about the award, visit the J.R. Hopes Art Scholarship website.